WISE 2013 (Text)


Home Product
Viewer
Product
Table
Product
Descriptions
Model
Description
Model Data
Access

A workshop on wave physics,
spectral modeling, observations and related topics

April 21-25, 2013, College Park, Maryland, USA

WISE 2013 group photo WISE 2013 group photo at the Lincoln Memorial, Washington, DC, April 24 2013.

The WISE meetings aim to deepen the knowledge of the physical processes involved in wave development and evolution in basin-scale and coastal environments, and to improve the related numerics. Without any written proceedings, but based only on direct oral presentation of the latest results, it avoids any formalism connected to the way the results are passed to the audience.

Wind waves represent a basic parameter of interest for marine engineering and military applications. In the open sea they dictate the design and operational conditions of offshore structures. Close to the coast the design and planning of any marine structure and operational activity depend on them and on the local environment they create.

On a wider perspective, wind waves are the tuning knob to regulate all the transfers that take place at the air-sea interface, e.g. momentum, energy, humidity, heat, aerosol. This transfer plays a key role for atmosphere and ocean dynamics and quality at a variety of scales.

All these aspects are part of the subjects of discussion and research at WISE.

Participants

Please email Deanna Spindler if either your name has been misspelled or your email address is incorrect.

Jose-Henrique Alves henrique.alves@noaa.gov
Hidenori Aiki aiki@jamstec.go.jp
Sergei Badulin badulin@ioran.ru
Mike Banner m.banner@unsw.edu.au
Natacha Bernier natacha.bernier@ec.gc.ca
Jean-Raymond Bidlot jean.bidlot@ecmwf.int
Ricardo Campos ricardo.campos@noaa.gov
Luigi Cavaleri luigi.cavaleri@ismar.cnr.it
Elodie Charles elodie.charles@csiro.au
Arun Chawla arun.chawla@noaa.gov
Tripp Collins tcollins@rsmas.miami.edu
Andrew Cox andrewc@oceanweather.com
Morteza Derakhti derakhti@udel.edu
Mikhail Dobrynin micdob@gmail.com
Zhifei Dong zdong@udel.edu
Francesco Fedele fedele@gatech.edu
Alex Fisher awfisher@umces.edu
Gabriel Garcia-Medina ggarcia@coas.oregonstate.edu
Richard Gorman r.gorman@niwa.co.nz
Jacco Groeneweg jacco.groeneweg@deltares.nl
Noriaki Hashimoto hashimoto-n@civil.kyushu-u.ac.jp
Brian Haus bhaus@rsmas.miami.edu
Tomoyuki Hirobe hirobe@fluidlab.sys.t.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Paul Hwang paul.hwang@nrl.navy.mil
Valdir Innocentini valdir@cptec.inpe.br
Robert Jensen robert.e.jensen@usace.army.mil
Daniel Kiefhaber daniel.kiefhaber@iup.uni-heidelberg.de
Sergei Kuznetsov kuznetsov@ocean.ru
Sabique Langodan sabique.langodan@kaust.edu.sa
Bin Li bin.li@noaa.gov
Jian-Guo Li jian-guo.li@metoffice.gov.uk
Bjoern Lund blund@rsmas.miami.edu
George Mellor glmellor@princeton.edu
Jaak Monbaliu jaak.monbaliu@bwk.kuleuven.be
Ruben Montoya rmontoya@udem.edu.co
Jens Murawski jmu@dmi.dk
Francisco Ocampo-Torres ocampo@cicese.mx
Andres Osorio afosorioar
Roberto Padilla-Hernandez roberto.padilla@noaa.gov
Daniel Pelaez dspelaez@unal.edu.co
William Perrie william.perrie@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Vlad Polnikov polnikov@mail.ru
Jesus Portilla jportilla@ymail.com
Henry Potter hpotter@rsmas.miami.edu
Andrei Pushkarev dr.push@gmail.com
Erick Rogers erick.rogers@nrlssc.navy.mil
James Salmon j.e.salmon@tudelft.nl
Yana Saprykina saprykina@ocean.ru
Michael Schwendeman mss28@u.washington.edu
Lev Shemer shemer@eng.tau.ac.il
Margarita Shtremel shtremel@ocean.ru
Pieter Smit p.b.smit@tudelft.nl
Alex Soloviev soloviev@nova.edu
Deanna Spindler deanna.spindler@noaa.gov
Peter Sutherland sutherlandp@ucsd.edu
Alessandro Toffoli toffoli.alessandro@gmail.com
Yaron Toledo yaron.toledo@gmail.com
Hendrik Tolman hendrik.tolman@noaa.gov
Bash Toulany Bash.Toulany@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Andre van der Westhuysen andre.vanderwesthuysen@noaa.gov
Gerbrant van Vledder g.p.vanvledder@tudelft.nl
Takuji Waseda waseda@k.u-tokyo.ac.jp
Marissa Yates marissa-externe.yates-michelin@edf.fr
Masaki Yokota yokota.masaki.426@m.kyushu-u.ac.jp
Vladimir Zakharov zakharov@math.arizona.edu
Stephan Zieger szieger@swin.edu.au

Schedule

The entire agenda is available as a PDF here.

Sunday, 21-April-2013

Time Topic Location
17.00-20.00 Registration and ice breaker NCWCP Conference Center

Monday, 22-April-2013

Time Topic Presenters
08.45-09.00 Welcome - logistical information Hendrik Tolman
09.00-09.30 Critical-layer analysis of wind-driven oblique surface waves Sang Soo Lee
09.30-10.00 Wave input and dissipation in WAVEWATCH III and wave breaking and sea spray forecasts Russel P. Morison, Michael J. Banner
10.00-10.30 Nonlinear generation of surface waves against the wind in a limited fetch growth model Andrei N. Pushkarev, Vladimir E. Zakharov
10.30-11.00 Coffee Break  
11.00-11.30 The air-sea interface and surface stress in hurricanes Alexander Soloviev, Roger Lukas, Mark Donelan, Isaac Ginis
11.30-12.00 Momentum fluxes: implementation and validation within SWAN and WW3 W.E. Rogers
12.00-12.30 Development and validation of the near-shore wave prediction system André van der Westhuysen, Roberto Padilla-Hernandez, Pablo Santos,
Alex Gibbs
12.30-14.00 Lunch Break  
14.00-14.30 Accurate modeling of nonlinear and dispersive waves in the coastal zone Marissa L.Yates,
Michel Benoit
14.30-15.00 Wave breaking in shallow water James Salmon,
Leo Holthuijsen
15.00-15.30 A new expression for the form stress term in the vertically Lagrangian mean framework for the effect of surface waves on the upper ocean circulation H. Aiki,
R.J. Greatbatch
15.30-16.00 Coffee Break  
16.00-16.30 Phillips’ spectral framework for ocean whitecaps revisited Michael Banner, Christopher Zappa, Johannes Gemmrich
16.30-17.00 The fundamentals of the modern methods in wind wave forecasting and their use in wave modelling Sergei A. Kitaigorodskii
17.00-17.30 An overview and demonstration of operations at NCEP's Ocean Prediction Center H.Joseph Sienkiewicz

Tuesday, 23-April-2013

Time Topic Presenters
09.00-09.30 A laboratory study of sea spray from breaking waves. Microphysical droplets, wind and wave properties C.J.Zappa, M.L. Banner, C.W.Fairall, R.P.Morison, W.L.Peirson
09.30-10.00 Measuring wave breaking by radar Paul A. Hwang, Mark A. Sletten, Jakov V. Toporkov, Steve P.Menk
10.00-10.30 Are wave measurements actually ground truth? Robert E. Jensen, T.J. Hesser, V. Swail
10.30-11.00 Coffee Break  
11.00-11.30 On the nonlinear transfer calculation Miguel Onorato, Peter Janssen, Jean Bidlot
11.30-12.00 Classification and parameterization of typical scenarios of nonlinear transformation of waves in coastal zone Yana Saprikyna, Sergey Kuznetsov, Margarira Shtremel
12.00-12.30 Approach to rogue wave prediction using forecasting/hindcasting models for fully directional sea states Al Osborne
12.30-14.00 Lunch Break  
14.00-14.30 A two-scale approximation for wave-wave interactions in an operational wave forecast model William Perrie, Bash Toulany, Don Resio
14.30-15.00 Space-time extremes of oceanic seas Francesco Fedele, Alvise Benetazzo
15.00-15.30 New wind input term consistent with experimental, theoretical and numerical considerations Vladimir E. Zakharov, Donald T. Resio, Andrei N. Pushkarev
15.30-16.00 Coffee Break  
16.00-16.30 Surface boundary layers and gravity waves George Mellor
16.30-17.00 Poster Session  

Wednesday, 24-April-2013

Time Topic Presenters
09.00-09.30 Evolution of coherent interference in random waves P.B. Smit,
T.T. Janssen
09.30-10.00 On relaxation due to nonlinear transfer in the wind-wave spectra Vladimir E. Zakharov,
Sergei I. Badulin
10.00-10.30 Spectral broadening of free surface gravity waves as a consequence of resonance and quasi-resonance cascade under influence of wind T. Hirobe,
T. Waseda,
T. Kinoshita,
T. Kawamura
10.30-11.00 Coffee Break  
11.00-11.30 Nested grids: accuracy and problems. Towards the unstructured grids Luigi Cavaleri, Luciana Bertotti, Aron Roland
11.30-12.00 Intercomparison of 6 wave models at the Catalan coast J. Monbaliu,
H. Ortega
12.00-12.30 Wave model updates from NCEP: WAVEWATCH, operations and NOPP Hendrik Tolman
12.30-13.00 Lunch Break Boxed Lunches Provided
13.15 Buses depart for Field Trip NCWCP Parking Lot
14.00-16.30 Narrated tour of Washington DC Old Town Trolley Tours
18:30-20.30 Official Dinner Fogo de Chao, D.C.

Thursday, 25-April-2013

Time Topic Presenters
09.00-09.30 Adaptive mesh refinement in spectral wave modelling Richard Gorman
09.30-10.00 Measurements of wave height and slope statistics using the Reflective Stereo Slope Gauge D. Kiefhaber, R. Rocholz, C. Zappa, G. Caulliez, B. Jahne
10.00-10.30 The influence of waves on momentun fluxes in typhoons Henry Potter, Clarence O. Collins, Rafael J. Ramos, Willima M. Drennan, Hans C. Graber
10.30-11.00 Coffee Break  
11.00-11.30 Wave breaking dissipation in a fetch-limited sea Michael Schwendeman,
Jim Thomson
11.30-12.30 Discussion  
12.30-14.00 Lunch Break  
14.00-14.30 Wave-current interaction in strongly sheared mean flows Zhifei Dong, James T. Kirby
14.30-15.00 A wave action equation for water waves propagation on vertically sheared flows Yaron Toledo, Victor Shrira
15.00-15.30 Assessing ice-induced attenuation of water waves in a directional wave basin A. Toffoli, L. Bennetts,
A. Albarello, M. Meylan,
A. Babanin
15.30-16.00 Coffee Break  
16.00-16.30 In situ observations of the spatial variation of waves and momentum flux in typhoons Clarence O. Collins, Henry Potter, Rafael J. Ramos, Hans C. Graber, William M Drennan
16.30-17.00 Experiments on kinematics of deep-water breaking waves Lev Shemer, Dan Liberzon
17.00-17.30 Exploring the effect of accelerated winds on the wave growth and the early stage of surface drift in the laboratory F.J. Ocampo-Torres,
H. Branger, P. Osuna
17.30 Meeting Closed  

The NOAA Center for Weather and Climate Prediction (NCWCP) resides on a 10-acre section of the University of Maryland's Research and Technology Park, known as "M-SQUARE".

The state-of-the-art NCWCP building consolidates several NOAA organizations including:

At the entrance of the NCWCP building is the Conference Center. It is outside of the security section, and accessible without a clearance. For those wishing to visit anyone inside the security section, a permit will have to be arranged ahead of time. Please note that security clearance cannot be arranged during the conference. If you wish to arrange a visit, please contact Dr. Hendrik Tolman as soon as possible.

The Conference Center consist of an Auditorium and several break-out rooms. All are equiped with the typical audio-visual capability from a Windows workstation. Note that presenters will not be able to hook up their own laptop to the audio-visual screen. Free open-access WiFi will be available in the auditorium and conference break-out rooms.

There is free onsite parking for conference members.

auditorium Auditorium

DC Tour and Dinner

The DC Tour and Dinner will take place on Wednesday the 24th of April. Boxed lunches will be provided this day (if you have special dietary needs, please be sure to mention it in the Comments section of the Registration Form).


Old Town Trolley Old Town Trolley

Busses will pick up attendees and their guests at the NCWCP parking lot, and will depart at 1:15pm on a fully narrated 2.5 hour tour of Washington, DC. The tour includes stops at the Franklin D. Roosevelt Memorial, the Lincoln, Vietnam, and the Korean Veterans Memorials, and the Iwo Jima Memorial. Attendees will be dropped off at 4:30pm near the Smithsonian Foundation Castle in the DC National Mall area, and will have the chance to explore the monuments and Smithsonian Museums independently for 1.5 hours before dinner. When planning your visit, you may want to check the closing hours of the museums:
Museums with extended Spring hours
All other Smithsonian museums hours.

The restaurant is located at: 1101 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington, DC 20004, and is within easy walking distance of the Mall. Dinner will be at 6:30pm.

To return to your hotel, Metro Center is just 3 blocks north of the restaurant.

DC Tour:
Old Town Trolley Tours, Washington DC

Dinner:
Fogo de Chao in DC

The guest fee for the DC Tour and Dinner is US$130.00 (does not include any drinks or desserts at Fogo de Chao).

NOAA Center for Weather and Climate Prediction (NCWCP)
5830 University Research Court
College Park*, MD 20740

Main Phone: (301) 683-1314

* Sometimes the address comes up as "Riverdale" instead of "College Park"

More directions to the NCWCP are available as a PDF here.

map to ncwcp

Nearest Metrorail station:
College Park Metro Station (Green Line)

The metro station is just over half a mile (1 km) away from the NCWCP. Instead of walking around on River Road to University Research Court, there is a slightly shorter walking path that can be taken (the dashed yellow line):

walking path

There is the "River Road-109 Shuttle" that runs from the College Park Metro station to our building year-round, Monday through Friday except on Federal Holidays. It runs every 15 minutes from 6:00 until 9:00 AM and again from 3:00 until 6:00 PM.

Airports

  • Reagan National
  • This airport is on the Yellow and Blue lines of the Metro system. The metro fare to College Park is approximately $5.00.
    Super Shuttle: Approximately $28.00 one-way.
    Taxi: 15 miles / 25 kilometers. Approximately $30.

  • BWI Thurgood Marshall
  • Super Shuttle: Approximately $32.00 one-way.
    Taxi: 25 miles / 40 kilometers. Approximately $60.

  • Dulles International
  • The Washington Flyer bus goes non-stop between the Dulles Airport and the West Falls Church Metro Station for $10 one-way ($18 round-trip). The Metro fare to College Park is approximately $5.75
    Super Shuttle: Approximately $39.00 one-way.
    Taxi: 58 miles / 67 kilometers. Washington Flyer Taxi approximately $80.

    There are many Restaurants in the College Park area, all of which require driving a short distance from NCWCP.

    For convenience, you may also pre-order boxed lunches that will be available at the conference site via Kloud Cafe. The choices will appear when you click on the day for which you wish to order. Payment is through credit card (Mastercard, Visa, or American Express), and the page will appear after you hit the "Submit" button.

    lunch Outdoor seating area

    There are many hotels near the NCWCP in a variety of price ranges. The University of Maryland maintains a list of off-campus Accomodations. The hotels they list in College Park are mostly along Baltimore Avenue and are mapped here:

    hotel map

    The lowest marker (blue with a dot) is the location of the NCWCP. Click on Hotels near College Park for a larger interactive map.

    In addition, since the NCWCP is accessible by Metro certain hotels in the DC area will also be an option. Because of this we will not make any recommendations or reserve blocks of rooms.

    Here are some photos taken during the WISE 2013 tour and dinner.

    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo
    • Wise 2013 Photo

    Graphical version of this page

    About Us
    About the MMAB - Mission - Other NCEP Centers - MMAB Personnel - NOAA Locator

    Contact Us


    NOAA/ National Weather Service
    National Centers for Environmental Prediction
    Environmental Modeling Center
    Marine Modeling and Analysis Branch
    5200 Auth Road
    Camp Springs, Maryland 20746-4304 USA
    Comments/Feedback
    Disclaimer
    Privacy Policy
    Page last modified: Tuesday, 18-Nov-2014 18:41:15 UTC